Fervent Book Review & Giveaway

When I received my copy of Fervent, I almost sprinted into the house to read it. I assumed I would just blow through it & shout its praises from the mountaintop & move on to the next book review. That absolutely was not the case.

Shout the praises, yes, but my ‘blow through’ idea became like a long walk through thick mud, up to your knee caps.

Its author, the powerhouse known as Priscilla Shirer, is no stranger to bringing the meat of God’s word & visibility of an anointed spirit.

Many of us have been empowered & guided through the word by her amazing Bible studies, simulcasts & conferences- even bringing Jesus & the power of prayer to the box office in 2015 with the #1 movie, War Room.

Daughter of Dr. Tony Evans & an amazing plumb line of family ministry, you do not come into Priscilla’s presence, whether audibly or in text, without feeling something of the spirit of God pressed into you if you’re willing to receive.

The book Fervent, starts with a simple outline & warning:

“This book is not just meant for pretty reading. It’s not for coffee-table curiosity and other such cameo appearances. Think of it as industrial-grade survival gear. Because this is war. This is the fight of your life. A very real enemy has been strategizing and scheming against you, assaulting you, coming after your emotions, your mind, your man, your children, your future. In fact, he’s doing it right this second. Right where you are. But I say his reign of terror stops here. Stops now. He might keep coming but he won’t have victory anymore. Because it all starts failing when we start praying.”

And THAT was only page 2, my friends.

The pages that follow are a catalyst to prepare you for what each chapter will bring you through. They are solely designed & devoted to a specific prayer outline, which also, provides you with numerous scripture references to stand upon.

Priscilla looked at things from an enemy’s viewpoint & states, “If I were your enemy exactly what I’d want is to devalue the most potent weapons in your arsenal.” To go even further she polled a large cross section of women asking them to explain where they feel the primary ways or areas, the enemy attacks them. After much research, she came down to 10 bullet points, which become your chapters & your game plan of prayer & protection. Here are the top 10 categories of response where Satan comes to steal & deceive us the hardest:

  • Strategy 1-    Against Your Passion
  • Strategy 2-   Against Your Focus
  • Strategy 3-   Against Your Identity
  • Strategy 4-   Against Your Family
  • Strategy 5-   Against Your Confidence
  • Strategy 6-   Against Your Calling
  • Strategy 7-   Against Your Purity
  • Strategy 8-   Against Your Rest & Contentment
  • Strategy 9-   Against Your Heart
  • Strategy 10- Against Your Relationships

If you need a battle plan for a warrior, not a slap through, flowery, prayer book that brings you comfort & makes you feel good- I urge you to get your hands on a copy immediately.

Many of you may be like me & love book extras, which are also generously provided in the back of the book. Several pages for notes & journaling, along with durable, tear out prayer cards for the people & needs closest to your heart.

We all know that God provides us with prayer as a communication tool with Him because it changes lives. I don’t mean the “give me & asking” type of prayer. But a way to grow in unison with the One who is always fighting on your behalf. Learn to let Him have His way.

I see so many, I used to be one of them, cruise through life & miss key prayer moments in the spirit that connect us with a genuine relationship with God. It’s a work that will always be in progress. It will look different for each of us, but the the effort & the push forward has to begin somewhere. Today has to be the day to start.

Many women much older than me, some my own age, approach me in the Bible class I teach & other areas of life, explaining they have never truly encountered intimacy with God. They had never been in a place where there was instruction or even example in building a prayer life that praises, listens in the still moments & submits to God’s plan & will vs a personal outline or agenda that expects God to just show up & grant the wishes like a magician. I firmly believe most prayer lives have been hindered in this same way, due to the ask & you shall receive being so twisted to fit us- there’s no room for God to work out His way anymore.

He’s more powerful than the ways we water Him down. God may just show up & answer many of our prayers, but often we limit the ability He has to expand us because we are not submitted to His want for our lives; only our wants disguised as needs. The storehouse is full of blessing if we commit to the journey to reach it, but we’d rather shop & receive from the tiny marketplace up the street since it provides the easier access.

This immature prayer walk leaves us exposed & extremely vulnerable to the attacks that we consistently fall under. It’s our choice. We can have as much Jesus as we want. We can have as much prayer & protection as we’re willing to sacrifice our time to acquire.

This book may not be your forever platform for prayer, as we all are on a continuous cycle of spiritual advancement. But I guarantee if you are someone looking for a new game plan; a new prayer focus & reboot in your approach to all things prayer driven, this is absolutely the place to start regardless of what level of spiritual maturity you’re on in life.

Because I care so much for you to experience this book also, I would LOVE to give you one. My dear friends at http://www.bhpublishinggroup.com/ provided me with a copy to pay forward.

If you’d like to be entered in the drawing, it will require a few simple things. Just press here & you’re on your way: a Rafflecopter giveaway

*My opinion & comments are my own. I am not paid or encouraged for either by the author or B&H Publishing Company.

Untitled 1

7 thoughts on “Fervent Book Review & Giveaway

  1. I have considered purchasing this book and after reading your blog I definitely want to read it now. Our women’s group just finished her book -one in a million and enjoyed her teaching so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YOU are an incredible lady !!! You are so engaging in your writings and in your conversations. I feel soooo very blessed to be in your Bible Study !!! THANK YOU for ALWAYS being real and very insightful with wisdom. You are the real deal :)) Jean DiGiulio ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read the Book Fervent loved it. Jade to me your description of the book was right on point. Definitely a way to exam your prayer life or bring it back to life. The one thing the book did for me was remind me how active & alive Satan is along with all his deceptions & lies. But as you said, it also reminds us of How Great Our God is..that we need to study His Word & stay in a close relationship with Him.
    Again I think you did an excellent review of the book. Let me know what book you review next. I might want to read it along side you. Guess I would never need to win a give away..lol

    Thank you for who my dear sister in Christ. As Jean said you are the real deal. I am a blessed lady to know you. It would have been a hoot to lead along side you but since God moved me its wonderful to know the class is in great hands. Love you! Pam

    Like

Leave a Reply

